BOOK REVIEW- THE SECRET DAUGHTER by Kelly Rimmer

*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.•`FIVE STAR REVIEW
        ✯✯✯✯✯

Title: The Secret Daughter
Author: Kelly Rimmer
Genre: Fiction
JBI Rating: 5+ Stars

“Sometimes you have to let go of one dream to pick up another one.”
― Kelly Rimmer, The Secret Daughter

Kelly Rimmer, where have you been hiding all my life?! The Secret Daughter is Ms. Rimmer’s second book but my first from her. Thank you Kindle for your awesome recommendations, this author is a keeper.

STAR CHART

Storyline: 5+ Stars  
AMAZING! The Secret Daughter is about adoption, understanding, deceit, forgiveness, and inevitably peace. In Australia, during the 70s and early 80s, there were forced adoptions and mother and baby maternity homes. If you were a pregnant, unwed minor, this became your reality. Talk about intense, I was blown away. I can’t imagine what those young girls had to experience. I do know that had I been forced to give up my son at birth simply because I was 16 and pregnant I would have died. I just can’t even imagine.

So yeah, deeply intense subject matter. Beautifully written. It’s done from dual POV’s as well as letters written by a third source. The POV’s are done in the past and present but the doesn’t make it confusing at all. Plus it keeps the story balanced and helps it flow seamlessly from one thought to the next. Definitely a must-read. I really don’t want to give away too much info and spoil it. I feel like if you read the blurb you’ll be reading the book not long after, for sure. It’s going to grab you like it did me and next thing you know it’ll be 3am and you still can’t put it down.

Character Strength: 5 Stars
There are a few unforgettable people in The Secret Daughter. Sabina; the adoptee, you’re going to love her just because. Megan and Grae; the adoptive parents, can’t say that I love either of them honestly. At the end I was able to like Megan a whole lot more though. Lilly; the birth mother, good lord my poor heart broke for this woman. A lot! Her strength and determination put it back together too. There are a few others you’ll meet along the way too that help make this the phenomenal story that it is.

Emotional Value: 5++ Stars
TISSUE IS MANDATORY!! That’s your only warning and trust me when I say you’re going to need a lot. Holy Hell I think I had to have cried through more than half of the book. I was torn apart and slowly sewn back together again. You know how I feel about books that make me cry like a bunch of babies. Love love love them!

Overall Opinion: 5+ Stars
I don’t know how exactly I stumbled upon this amazing author, I’m so extremely happy that I did though. Kelly Rimmer is definitely an author worth following. She has a way of pulling you into her books and making you feel like you’re experiencing it all personally. That’s how you keep your reader hooked. Give them the words that make them live the story. Beautiful!!

Make sure to add The Secret Daughter to your TBR now. Then go one-click it and get comfy because it’s about to be a long and emotional night. Most definitely worth it.

Is this book a keeper? Absolutely
Would I recommend this book to others? Absolutely
Would I read more books from this author? Absolutely
Would I recommend this author to others? Absolutely

Read and reviewed by Jeri for Just Blog It Book Blog

#FiveStarFabulous
#TheSecretDaughter
#DontForgetTheTissue
#2017MustReadList
#JustBlogItBookBlog

✷❤✷Just Blog It Reviews✷❤✷
https://www.facebook.com/JustBlogIt2016

BOOK REVIEW- THE SECRET DAUGHTER by Kelly Rimmer

Leave a Reply

